Skip to content
28/05/2014 / jenniferrobsonartist

Graphic Novel – The Girl who had a Tail

The Girl who had a Tail I - concept art for graphic novel - Limited edition print - £100

The Girl who had a Tail I – concept art for graphic novel – Limited edition print – £100

The Girl who had a Tail - concept art for graphic novel - Limited edition print - £100

The Girl who had a Tail – concept art for graphic novel – Limited edition print – £100

I plan to create ( in you know the invisible magic secret time at some point unknown to me as yet) a graphic novel of TGWHAT and here are a couple of concept images. I really love comic art, especially graphic novels like Neil Gaiman’s Sandman. I think the genre really allows so much freedom to really create other worlds and reflect and exaggerate the human condition through metaphor and superpowers. Because its drawn the boundaries are limitless. I love the way a storyboard can be so cinematic, like composing a painting. I would like to create my own feminine hero tale and illustrate it using all the different techniques and skills i have in book form. I watched Frank Quitely on BBC iplayer What do Artist Do All Day recently and it was mad to see this guy just drawing away in Glasgow doing his own thing. It was great in fact. Inspiring.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03v2vcb

He says interestingly there is not alot of money in comics, and he’d probably make more in game and animation but he doesn’t like that idea because there is less freedom of creative input. It’s more cogs in a wheel work rather than getting to create worlds. Which I like.

Leave a Reply

