Skip to content
15/05/2014 / jenniferrobsonartist

Art as Therapy

My appendix burst just before Christmas in 2013. I was really sick and had surgery to remove it. They said they would try keyhole making four cuts at first. However complications proved that they needed to open me up. They had to remove the offending appendix and ‘rinse’ me out. I woke up with a tube coming out of my side to drain excess fluid and feeling like I’d been run over by a bus. I had a morphine drop I could regulate myself. I remember counting down the seconds before I could press it again. I had a 6 inch cut held together by angry looking metal teeth. 

You’re supposed to feel better after its out. I didn’t feel better for 3 months. Eventually after a colonoscopy diagnosis they said I have Crohns Disease. These are the drawings I did to try and make sense of it all. I always make something beautiful out of the negative. 

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (11)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (1)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (2)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (3)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (4)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (5)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (7)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (8)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (9)

Jennifer Robson artist Crohn's Disease (10)

Leave a Reply

