Skip to content
03/06/2013 / jenniferrobsonartist

Telling Tales

Once upon a time...

Once upon a time…

For  The Girl who had a Tail, I set out to tell a story, and to do this I realised I had to make my own world. I was originally inspired to do this after seeing the film ‘Spirited Away’, a studio Gibli anime . It was unlike anything else I’d seen at that time, and I loved the mix of imagery used, the landscapes background, with delicately painted skies and blue hydrangeas provide a backdrop, for an array of contrasting characters and creatures, good and evil, grotesque and beautiful, shapeshifters of all kinds. The story is essentially  a hero’s journey (Joseph Campbell is my hero),  overcoming the odds and herself, to save her parents. I saw this and was overwhelmed by the feelings it evoked within, the inspiring characters and the oddness and contrast of the materials used to create such a unique vision – a new and very indiviual world. I also loved how it was clearly inspired by centuries of storytelling and referred to myths, and tales which have passed down through humanity’s history – from cave art to kindle.

I realised that story is such an important part of human life. We live by story, if you think about it, what’s the first question you ask someone when they come home? How was your day? You invite a story. We all love a good story, even in its simplist form. Children, learn from stories, and as adults we continue to learn from stories, it just gets a bit more complex! I wanted to tell a story, perhaps my story, but also a universal story. And if I was going to tell a story, then I needed to start collecting my own language and researching and learning the language of story that has gone before me. And that’s what I’ve been doing the last 3 years. Collecting.

I was always drawn to fairytales as a child, and even as an adult the books and films I am interested in are stories with allegory, mystery, lessons, heroes, magical creatures, otherworlds. But also stories with realistic characters, characters who could be me, stories set in a realistic world but also in some fantastical way.  That’s the type of stories I like, that’s how I like to be told a tale. And that’s where I started and thats where I am. Telling tales.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. aphreya / Jun 3 2013 5:52 pm

    Love this! Love the description of Spirited Away. Seen Howls Moving Castle? You’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

